The RiverWatch Institute of Alberta delivers public watershed education programs that have received significant accolades over the years. Award recognition is testament to the amazing contributions of staff, directors, funders, partners and teachers, so we’re very proud of being recognized with these major awards:


Calgary Award Recipient

CreekWatch Citizen Science and Stewardship Program

The Calgary Awards celebrate and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions made by Calgarians. Specifically, the Environmental Achievement Award recognizes leadership, innovation, and action in environmental stewardship that reduces the impact on and restores our city’s natural environment.

“We are proud to have you join this year’s group of outstanding Calgary Awards recipients that make our city a great place to live. I hope you and your staff will take pride in knowing that your organization has been chosen as a leader and a role model for our community. On behalf of City Council and the citizens of Calgary, I thank you for enhancing the quality of life for Calgarians and for being an inspiration to our city.”

Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary
June, 2020

(Above) Head of Commercial & Corporate Banking HSBC, Wade Schuler (L), Citizen Science Programs Manager, Reed Froklage (C) and Honourable Mayor of Calgary Naheed Nenshi (R) with the 2019 Calgary Award for Environmental Achievement.


Emerald Award Recipient

CreekWatch Citizen Science and Stewardship Program

The Emerald Awards are presented by the Alberta Emerald Foundation every June, coinciding with Canadian Environment Week. The intent is by showcasing the ingenuity, dedication and hard work of recipients and finalists, others will follow; the innovative will become the norm, resulting in a healthier and cleaner environment.

The category of Shared Footprints Award recognizes and celebrates projects that go beyond normal land management practices to have a positive impact on the environment. Recipients of the Shared Footprints Award have demonstrated land and water stewardship, built shared knowledge, improved air quality or reduced land disturbances.

(Above) Citizen Science Coordinator Reed Froklage (L) and Executive Director Cal Kullman (R) with the 2018 Emerald Award for Shared Footprints.


NSERC Award for Science Promotion

Presented by the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Awards for Science Promotion honour individuals and groups that are inspirational in the way they promote science to the general public, and are an opportunity for Canada’s science community to recognize, support and encourage outstanding science promoters. NSERC is Canada’s federal funding agency for university-based research and student bursaries.

In presenting the NSERC award to the RiverWatch Institute of Alberta, the Honorable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, said, “Your commitment to science education and to getting our young people excited about science is second to none. I congratulate you and wish this had existed when I was in school.”

(Above) The Honorable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science (L), RiverWatch Executive Director Cal Kullman (C) and NSERC President Dr. Mario Pinto (R) at the Ottawa presentation of the 2017 NSERC Award for Science Promotion


Duncan and Craig LLP Laurel Award, Silver

To celebrate 100 years of continuous legal practice, Duncan Craig LLP developed the Laurel Awards in 1994 to honour non-profit organizations and charities that further their objectives through exceptional creativity and innovation in Edmonton and area.

(Right) RiverWatch Executive Director Cal Kullman (L) and the Honorable Dave Hancock, Minister of Education (R) at the presentation of the 2011 Duncan and Craig Silver Laurel Award.


Calgary Board of Education Lighthouse Award

Award-winning partnerships shine their light on education

In May 1999, the Calgary Board of Education began a program to publicly acknowledge and express appreciation for the contributions of corporate partners. Each month during the school year, one partner is selected to receive a CBE Lighthouse Award, so named to honor businesses that have provided a “beacon of light” to enhance learning opportunities for CBE students. Trustees present the awards during public board meetings.


Calgary Mayor’s Award for Environmental Achievement

In 1994, The City of Calgary established the Calgary Awards to celebrate and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions made by Calgarians. The Calgary Awards is The City’s official citizen recognition program celebrating Calgarians and local organizations for their outstanding achievements and significant contributions to making our city a better place to live.
The Calgary Environmental Achievement Award recognizes leadership, innovation and action in environmental stewardship, and contributions may include innovation and application of advanced technology; climate resilience; conservation and efficiency; local, volunteer-driven initiatives; and public education.

The RiverWatch Calgary Award 2002


Peter F. Drucker Award for Canadian Nonprofit Innovation, Honorable Mention

Peter F. Drucker was a management consultant, educator and author, who contributed to the philosophical and practical foundations of the modern business corporation. Since 1991, the Drucker Prize (formerly known as the Peter F. Drucker Award for Nonprofit Innovation) continues to recognize organizations that best exemplify Peter Drucker’s definition of innovation as “change that creates a new dimension of performance”. While only one organization wins the annual $100,000 prize, every organization that applies obtains powerful new tools for effectiveness.

Alberta E-Business Award for Non-Profit Small Business


Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence

National Level Award

The Prime Minister’s Awards for Teaching Excellence have honoured exceptional elementary and secondary school teachers in all disciplines since 1993.

“Through your dedication and skill, you have opened doors for these young people to exciting studies and careers, and in turn are doing your country a great service. You are an inspiration to fellow educators and all those involved with Canadian youth. Please accept my warmest congratulations and best wishes for continued success.”

Right Honorable Prime Minister Jean Chretien

RiverWatch Executive Director Cal Kullman (Left); Right Honorable Jean Chretien, Prime Minister (Center); and RiverWatch Co-Founder John Dupuis (Right) at the Parliament Hill presentation of the 1997 Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence